Saving Templates

 

The routine for and results of saving a Letter Writer Template differ slightly depending on how the template was created, as explained following.

 

Option 1 - If you had begun a new letter from a blank document, and decided that you wanted to save it as a template, you would select File > Save as Template. You would be prompted to name it and save it to your list of templates.

 

Option 2 - If you had begun the new template, by selecting File > New, and selecting Blank Template as the basis, you could either;

o       Select File > Save, or

o       Press Ctrl+S

 

Letter Writer detects that you were working on a template to begin with, and prompts you to name it and save it to your list of templates.

 

 

Option 3 - If you had begun the new template, by selecting File > Modify Template, and then selected an existing, User Defined template as the basis, you could either;

o       Select File > Save, or

o       Press Ctrl+S

This would save the existing template, replacing the old one. You would not be prompted for a new file name.

 

Option 4 - If you had begun the new template, by selecting File > Modify Template, and then selected an existing template (other than a User Defined) as the basis, you could either;

o       Select File > Save, or

o       Press Ctrl+S

This would save the template to the User Defined list of templates, with the same name.

 

Select a 'User Access' option:

o       All Users - These templates are available to everyone on your network. The icon in the template list is marked with the word ALL, in blue text, as seen in the image above.

o       Current User - These templates are available only to the user who created them. The icon in the template list is marked with the word USER, in violet.