Inactive Practitioners

 

In MedicalDirector PracSoft it is not possible to permanently delete practitioners. However it is possible to flag them as being inactive. Once a Practitioner's record has been made inactive, they cannot log into MedicalDirector PracSoft until another user with a sufficient security level logs on and re-enables them. If the Practitioner has any locums associated with them you must either make the locums inactive first or assign them to another practitioner by modifying the locum's details. Flagging a Practitioner's record as inactive also flags their user record as inactive. Likewise reactivating a Practitioner's record, reactivates their corresponding user record.

 

To Flag a Practitioner as Inactive

1.     Either:

o       Click , or

o       Select Admin > Practitioners

 

2.     The Registered Practitioners window appears.

 

3.     Select the practitioner you wish to make inactive.

4.     Click . Alternatively, you can click to  edit the practitioner's record, and tick the Mark Inactive check box within the Practitioner Details window that appears.

5.     (Optional) If the practitioner has no visits billed, you will be prompted as to whether you wish to permanently delete their record.

6.     (Optional) If the practitioner has any locums associated with them, you will now be alerted to this. You must either make the locums inactive first or assign them to another practitioner by modifying the locum's details.

7.     (Optional) If you also have MedicalDirector Clinical installed, you will be prompted as to whether you wish to also mark this practitioner as inactive in MedicalDirector Clinical.

8.     You will be prompted to confirm that you wish to make this practitioner inactive. Click to continue. The Practitioner become inactive.

 

 


To Reactivate an Inactive Practitioner

1.     Either:

o       Click or

o       Select Admin > Practitioners

 

2.     The Registered Practitioners window appears.

 

3.     Enable the Show All Practitioners check box. The list is updated to include all inactive practitioners.

4.     Select the inactive practitioner you wish to reactivate.

5.     Click . The Practitioner Details window appears.

 

6.     Un-tick the Mark Inactive check box.

7.     Click to confirm.